Direkt zum Inhalt springen
login.png Login    |
de | en
Technical University of Munich

Technical University of Munich

The members of the TUM Senate

The Senate has 11 voting members. It is made up of faculty members (6), scientific/artistic or other associates (2), student representatives (2), a member of the assembly of doctoral candidates (1; TUM-specific and only in an advisory capacity) and the university's gender equality officer.

The role of the TUM Senate

The Senate

makes decisions on:

  • regulations issued by the university 
  • matters of fundamental importance to the research / promotion of young scientific and artistic talents and to compliance with the university's equal opportunity program 
  • applications to set up collaborative research centers, graduate programs and other such organizations and institutes 
  • proposals concerning the establishment / modification / cancellation of degree programs 
  • proposals concerning the appointment of honorary professors 
  • the bestowment of the titles of honorary senate member, honorary citizen and honorary member of the university
  • the endorsement of proposals concerning the appointment of external members of the TUM Board of Trustees

defines key research areas

comments on proposals concerning faculty appointments

gives its consent to the decision of the president concerning the conferment of the “TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professor” honorary professorship


  • the ombudsperson responsible for inquiring into allegations of scientific misconduct 
  • the gender equality officer of the university

Members (as October 1st 2014)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Udo Lindemann

Full Professor of Product Development
Mechanical Engineering

Prof. Dr. Annette Menzel

Vice Chair
Full Professor of Ecoclimatology
Center of Life and Food Sciences Weihenstephan

Agnes Auer-Seidl

Chair of Food Packaging Technology
Center of Life and Food Sciences Weihenstephan
Representative of the Scientific Staff

Felix Dietrich

Doctoral Candidate, elite graduate program TopMath (MA)
Representative of the Union of Doctoral Candidates
(Advisory Capacity)

Ass. Jur. Annette Eiberle

Academic and Student Affairs Officer – Legal Issues
Representative of the Non-Scientific Staff

Prof. Dr. Christoph Kaserer

Full Professor of Financial Management and Capital Markets
TUM School of Management

Prof. Dr. med. Marion Kiechle

Full Professor of Gynaecology
Director of the Gynaecological Hospital at TUM Hospital rechts der Isar

Nora Pohle

Student of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, BSc
Department of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering (EI)
Second Students' Representative

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Rieger

Full Professor of Macromolecular Chemistry

Dr. Eva Sandmann

Chair of Philosophy and Philosophy of Science (MCTS)
Gender Equality Officer

Prof. Dr. Kurosch Thuro

Full Professor of Engineering Geology
Faculty of Civil, Geo and Environmental Engineering

Peter Zarnitz

Student of Informatics, BSc (IN)
First Students' Representative

Todays events

no events today.

Calendar of events