Direkt zum Inhalt springen
login.png Login    |
de | en
Technical University of Munich

Technical University of Munich


Ist diese Seite veraltet oder sind die Informationen falsch?


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang A. Herrmann



High-School Graduation from Donau-Gymnasium Kelheim/Bavaria

1967 - 1970

Study of chemistry at the Technische Hochschule München, Fellow of the scholarship body of the German Catholic Episcopate (Cusanuswerk), final examination after 6 semesters ("excellent")

1970 - 1971

Diploma thesis supervised by Professor Ernst Otto Fischer at the Technische Hochschule München on PH3-complexes of transition metals


Doctoral dissertation (Dr. rer.nat.) at the University of Regensburg supervised by Professor Henri Brunner on "Optically Active Transition Metal Complexes with Square-Pyramidal Geometry" ("excellent")

1975 - 1976

Research Fellow of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft in the laboratory of Professor P. S. Skell, Pennsylvania State University, USA


Habilitation on "Organometallic Syntheses with Diazoalkanes" at the University of Regensburg


Professor at the University of Regensburg, Institute of Inorganic Chemistry


Chair Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Frankfurt/Main 


Chair Professor at the Technische Universität München in succession of Prof. Dr. h.c.mult. E.O. Fischer

1988 / 1993

Offers for chair positions of Inorganic Chemistry at the ETH Zürich, Switzerland (not accepted)

since 1995

President of the Technical University of Munich

Since 1990

Member of the Academy of Sciences and Literature Mainz

Since 1995

Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

1998 - 2014

Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the "Deutsches Museum", Munich

Since 2002

Member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering acatech

2002 - 2004

Chairman of the "Bayerische Rektorenkonferenz" (Bavarian University Rectors Conference)

2004 - 2005

Founding Chairman of the "Universität Bayern e.V."

Since 2007

International Advisory Council at the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia

2008 - 2014

Member of the Governing Board of the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT)

Since 2008

Executive Board Member, Economic Advisory Council of Bavaria

2010 - 2012

Member of the "Zukunftsrat" (Future Council of the Bavarian Government)

Since 2011

Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences

Since 2011

Member of the Advisory Board of the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich

2013 - 2018

Member of the Board of Trustees of the American Academy in Berlin

Since 2014

Member of the International Academic Advisory Panel (IAAP), Ministry of Education, Singapore

Since 2014

Member of the Board of Trustees of the TÜV SÜD Foundation (chair since 2018)

Since 2014

Chair of the "Zukunftsrat" (Future Council of the Bavarian industry) of the
Bavarian industry association vbw

Since 2015

Member of the Advisory Board of the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt

Since 2015

Chairman of the Global Alliance of Technological Universities (GlobalTech)

Since 2016

Member of the Board of Trustees of the Bertelsmann Stiftung

Since 2017

Member of the Senate of the Max Planck Society

Since 2019

Honorary Chair of Universität Bayern e.V.

Since 2019

Member of the Council of the Foundation for the Promotion of Education, Science and Research of the Archdiocese of Cologne

Selected Awards


"Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft" (Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Award of the German Research Foundation)


"Max Planck - Forschungspreis" (Max Planck Research Award)


"Wilhelm Klemm-Preis der Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GdCh)" (Wilhelm Klemm Award of the German Chemical Society)


"Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande" (Federal Cross of Merit)


Officier de l‘Ordre national de l‘Honneur


ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry


"Bayerische Verfassungsmedaille" (Bavarian Order of the Constitution)


"Bayerischer Verdienstorden" (Bavarian Order of Merit)


University Manager of the Year 2009 (Financial Times Deutschland, Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung)


"Goldene Bürgermedaille" of Freising (Golden outstanding citizen award medal)


President of the Year 2012 (Deutscher Hochschulverband)


Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art


Gold Medal of Honor of the Administrative District of Berchtesgadener Land


Gold Medal for Services to the Town of Garching near Munich

1990 - 2015

13 Honorary Doctorates


Honorary Citizen of Burghausen


Medal for the Protection of Historical Monuments, State Office for the Preservation of Historical Monuments


Honorary Citizen of Straubing


Graf Maximilian Montgelas Prize


Golden Ring of Honor from the county of Altötting


Georg Maurer Medal in Gold of the Klinikum rechts der Isar, TUM university hospital

contact: praesident@tum.de


TU München
Arcisstr. 21
80333 München

Tel.: +
Fax: +



Todays events

no events today.

Calendar of events