Direkt zum Inhalt springen
login.png Login    |
de | en
Technical University of Munich

Technical University of Munich

TUM Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is TUM's main supervisory body. It has 20 voting members made up of 10 external members and the 10 elected members of the Senate. The chair of the Board of Trustees is held by one of the external members. The deputy chair is the chair of the TUM Senate. The TUM Board of Management, the university's gender equality officer and the representative of the assembly of doctoral candidates attend the meetings in an advisory capacity.

The external members of the Board of Trustees are prominent leaders in the fields of science, culture, business and politics. These appointments are made by the TUM Board of Management and the Bavarian State Minister of Sciences drawing up a shortlist which is then passed on to the Senate for its approval. 

The external members are then officially appointed by the Minister of Sciences. The Board of Trustees has existed in its present form since 1 October 1999. Introduced and successfully tested by TUM, this setup was the first of its kind at a German university. 

The role of the Board of Trustees

TUM Board of Trustees

makes decisions on: 

  • the basic structure of the university
  • proposals concerning the appointment of the senior executive vice president – human resources, administration and finance 
  • the university's development program 
  • proposals concerning the division of the university into departments and schools 
  • the establishment / modification / cancellation of degree programs 


  • the president 
  • on the recommendation of the president, the senior vice presidents (with the exception of the senior executive vice president ) and also decides when these people should be voted out of office

comments on: 

  • the establishment / modification / cancellation of scientific and artistic organizations and institutes and other operating units 
  • the Bavarian State budget proposals / the draft of the strategic economic plan 

Internal Members:

Members of the Senate

External Members:

(v.l.n.r. Dr. Ludwig Kronthaler, Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Norbert Reithofer, Prof. Dr. Monika Henzinger,
Dr. Edmund Stoiber, Susanne Klatten, Ulrich Wilhelm, Dr. Otto Wiesheu, Peter Löscher,
Prof. Dr. Karl M. Einhäupl)

Prof. Dr. Karl M. Einhäupl

Chair of the Executive Board of Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Professor of Neurology

Prof. Dr. Monika Henzinger

Head of Research Group Theory and Applications of Algorithms
University of Vienna

Susanne Klatten


Dr. Ludwig Kronthaler

Secretary General

Dr. Nicola Leibinger-Kammüller

Chair of the Management Board
Trumpf GmbH + Co. KG

Peter Löscher

CEO and Delegate of the Supervisory Board
Renova Management AG (Switzerland)

President of the Supervisory Board
Sulzer AG (Switzerland)

Former CEO
Siemens AG (Munich)

Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Norbert Reithofer

Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Dr. Edmund Stoiber

Former Prime Minister of the Bavarian State Government

Dr. Otto Wiesheu

Former Bavarian State Minister of Economy, Traffic and Technology

Ulrich Wilhelm

General Director of Bavarian Broadcasting

Former external members

Project Manager University Boards
Dr. phil. Christiane Ebner
Arcisstraße 21, 80333 München
Tel. 089-289-25201

E-Mail: Ebner@zv.tum.de